Other Specified Paraphilic Disorder


Other specified paraphilic disorder is the term used by the fifth edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) to refer to any of the many other paraphilic disorders that are not explicitly named in the manual. Along with unspecified paraphilic disorder, it replaced the DSM-IV-TR category paraphilia not otherwise specified (PNOS).

Examples listed by the DSM-5 are telephone scatologia, necrophilia, zoophilia, coprophilia, klismaphilia, and urophilia. Partialism was considered a Paraphilia NOS in the DSM-IV, but was subsumed into fetishistic disorder by the DSM-5. In order to be diagnosable, the interest must be recurrent and intense, present for at least six months, and cause marked distress or impairment in important areas of functioning. When a specific paraphilia cannot be identified or the clinician chooses not to specify it for some other reason, the unspecified paraphilic disorder diagnosis may be used instead.

See also

  • Courtship disorder
  • Erotic target location errors
  • List of paraphilias